Are Pringles Vegan? Find The Full List of Vegan Flavors Here

Are Pringles Vegan?

There is no denying the fact that Pringles is one of the biggest international snack brands in the world. Thanks to their delicious chips, unique tube-designed packaging, and an ever-growing selection of flavors, you can find Pringles chips everywhere which begs the question, are Pringles vegan?

The short answer is that not all Pringles are vegan, although the company does make a handful of vegan-friendly chips. For example, Pringles Originals are vegan, and several of the most popular flavors are also suitable for vegans, including one flavor you'd never expect, while the rest tend to contain dairy.

To help guide you through this jungle of flavors, we have listed all of the vegan Pringles flavors as well as other useful information about Pringles chips below.

Differences In Vegan Pringles Packaging

Pringles chips in a bowl

Before we dive into the different vegan Pringles flavors, we have to note the difference between labeling in the US and the EU.

You see, even though the products and ingredients are more or less the same all over the world, Pringles packaging differs slightly in Europe compared to the United States. In addition, the selection is also different with Europe having a bigger variety of vegan Pringles chips than the US.

Read Next: Are M&Ms Vegan?

Pringles in Europe Are Labeled as Vegan

In Europe, Pringles have made it as easy as possible for consumers to quickly determine which Pringles flavors are vegan.

You see, within the European Union, Kellogg's (who owns Pringles) has marked all their flavors as either vegan or vegetarian with a clear sign on each tube. This is also true for many online stores where you can order Pringles such as Tesco.

Not only does that eliminate the risk of confusion for vegans, but it also makes Pringles one of the few major international snack brands to openly label their chips as vegan.

Vegan Pringles Flavors

Image of Pringles Originals
Tube of Vegan Pringles Texas BBQ Sauce
Vegan Sweet Chili Pringles

Image Credit: Tesco

So, with that out of the way, let us take a look at which Pringles are vegan. Note that Pringles changes their products every now and then, and some flavors that used to be vegan now contain dairy and eggs.

One example of this is the classic Pringles BBQ that used to be vegan but isn't anymore.

Vegan Pringles Flavors

Availablity

Pringles Originals US & EU
Originals Reduced Fat  US & EU
Originals Lightly Salted  US & EU
Pringles Paprika EU
Sweet Chili EU
Texas BBQ Sauce EU
Smokey Bacon EU
Cinnamon (Limited Edition) EU

You can read more details about each flavor below.

  • Pringles Originals

Even though Pringles has launched an array of exciting chips, the Pringles Original remains a customer favorite, and it’s by far the most sold Pringles in the world. Luckily, Pringles Originals are also 100% vegan.

Personally, we don’t eat much junk food at all but every once in a while (usually at airports with limited food options), we enjoy a tube of the Pringles Originals.

Moreover, Pringles Originals Reduced Fat as well as the Pringles Lightly Salted and the Pringles Multigrain are all vegan.

  • Pringles Paprika

In addition to Pringles Original, the Pringles Paprika has been one of the company’s most popular chips for many years. The flavor is completely free of animal-derived products and is suitable for vegans.

  • Sweet Chili

Sweet Chili is an exciting flavor that combines the best of two worlds: spicy and sweet. And, as you’ve probably guessed, the flavor is completely vegan. Better yet, the Sweet Chili is often readily available all over the world making it a great option for vegans.

  • Texas BBQ Sauce

As mentioned, Pringles classic BBQ chips have recently been reformulated and now contain dairy which is a shame since it was one of the most popular flavors. However, vegans can still enjoy a really good BBQ flavored chip by getting the Texas BBQ Sauce instead.

  • Smokey Bacon

Believe it or not, but despite the name, there is no animal derived ingredients in the Pringles Smokey Bacon chips. All the of flavoring is from natural flavors and the chips are listed as fully vegan on Tesco's website.

What Makes Pringles Not Vegan?

With a better idea of which Pringles flavors are vegan, let's take a quick glance at why some of the flavors aren’t.

As per usual, the culprit is dairy since many of the Pringles seasonings contains everything from:

  • Milk Powder
  • Cream Powder
  • Whey
  • Lactose
  • Casein
  • Flavoring (containing milk)

There have also been cases with some Pringles that contain egg-based ingredients.

In turn, this means that all Pringles are suitable for vegetarians but not for vegans. We also want to mention that Pringles have been known to add the food coloring red 40 to some of their chips which creates another dilemma.

Are Pringles Gluten-Free?

Lastly, many people are curious about whether Pringles are gluten-free or not. Unfortunately, it seems like none of the flavors are gluten-free since they all contain different forms of wheat and gluten. Therefore, Pringles are not suitable for people with celiac and gluten-intolerance.

Share:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.